“The Other Place” wins awards at State Theatre Festival

The Los Alamos Little Theatre’s production of The Other Place garnered awards for outstanding Leading Actor, Direction, and Set Design at the New Mexico state theatre festival held in Las Cruces March 2-5, 2017. The production placed second overall and is the alternate to regional competition.

Cindy Hines received the Leading Actor award for her portray of Julianna. Director Gwen Lewis received the Direction award and Paul Lewis received the Set Design award. Other LALT participants in the Festival included cast members Eric Bjorklund and Andi Bishofberger, cast member and stage manager Iain May, and backstage support Kelli Guider and Kathy Bjorklund.

The State Festival, sponsored by Theatre New Mexico, is a part of AACTFest, a national theatre competition sponsored by the American Association of Community Theatre that is held every two years. Competition begins at the State level, advances to Regionals, and culminates in a National Festival. LALT has participated in AACTFest for decades and has hosted the New Mexico festival on several occasions, most recently in 2013.